Meeting Minutes

Junior Achievement of Southeast Texas Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 20, 2024



Attendees

Board: Linda Amador, Camilo Amezquita, Evelyn Angelle, Pierre Aristide, Kimberly Barta, Tracy Beam, Juliet Breeze, Ryan Bucholtz, Darin Carroll, Adam Drutz, Damon Echevarria, Darren Ercolani, Larry Franco, Richard Heo, Ron Holloway, Robbie Jones, Mitch Kuy, Guillermo Martinez, Michele McNichol, Jeff Miers, Bruce Miller, Brett Mossman, Praveen Naik, Jamie Pierce, Kathy Pritchard, Tony Saucedo, Roland Sauermann, Julie Sheppard, Larry Stephens, Kevin Syphard, Laura Tibodeau, Bret VanderVoort, Greg Vesey, Alan Vu, Carol Warley, Laura Whitley, Melinda Yee

Staff: Courtney Azuike, Echo Blevins, Joe Burke, Ne'Cole Caldwell, Joge Cardenas, Becky Coulter, Christina Craft, Carla Crowe, Tania Daniel, Monica Espinosa, De Jones, Patty Lalonde, Jim McCaskill, Cecily Messer, Marlene Meyers, Becky Neeley, Jordan Parker, Tiffany Spates, Karen St. Fort, Liisa Williams, Shelly Zackrie

Guests: Frank Angelle, Alice Echevarria, Emilie Heo, Angela Kennedy, Giselle Macedo, Terrance Mackey, Lisette Mossman, Celvin Orellana, Debra Sauermann, My-Linh Syphard, Maria Vega, Jeffrey Walling, Maria Womersley

Vice-Chairwoman Michele McNichol called the meeting to order at 6:10 p.m. She opened the floor for questions or comments on the minutes from the February 22, 2024 meeting sent in the pre-read email. There being no questions, Michele asked for a motion to approve the minutes; the motion carried.

Michele introduced Juliet Breeze to give the Nominations Report. Juliet reported four resignations: Tom Behanick, Andy Hull, Gregg Piontek, and Ryan Spangler. Juliet presented six nominations: Damon Echevaria, Chevron; Drew Horn, RBC Capital Markets, Guillermo Martinez, PNC Bank; Kevin Syphard, Burns & McDonnell, Laura Whitley, TDECU; and Mitch Kuy, who is a member of the JA Company Program Alumni Board and will serve a one-year term as a non-voting member. Juliet called for a motion to approve the nominations; the motion carried.

Juliet shared that the nominations committee met and recommended the renewal of Bill Swanstrom as Secretary, Frank Steininger as Treasurer, and the additions of Ryan Buchholtz and Melinda Yee to the executive committee. Juliet called for a motion to approve the two officers and additions to the executive committee; the motion carried.

Juilet shared the slate of executive committee members to be renewed to a one-year terms:

Lina Amador Mark Lashier Larry Stephens

Evelyn Angelle Bruce Macklin - Emeritus Dave Stover



Duke Austin Janette Marx Bill Swanstrom

Juliet Breeze Michael McMurray Bret Vander Voort

Darin Carroll Michele McNichol Greg Vesey

Greg Ebel Bruce Miller Carol Warley

Greg Garland - Emeritus Niloufar Molavi Deanna Young

Joe Kelly Scott Prochazka

Elizabeth Killinger Frank Steininger

Sue Burnett

And the members that were up for renewal for three-year terms:

| Camilo Amezquita | Greg Ebel | Joe Kelly | Praveen Naik |
|------------------|-----------------|---------------------|-----------------|
| Evelyn Angelle | Greg Engel | Elizabeth Killinger | Daron Peschel |
| Pierre Aristide | Darren Ercolani | Mark Lashier | David Skinner |
| Hami Arrington | Kola Fagbayi | John Lionberger | Marc Vandermeer |
| Duke Austin | Bob Franklin | Bruce Macklin | Carol Warley |
| Sidney Barau | Richard Heo | Paul Marsden | Eli Warren |
| Kimberly Barta | Ron Holloway | Bruce McCullough | Ellis Wyms |
| Juliet Breeze | Preeti Jain | Michael McMurray | Deanna Young |
| Nick Buckner | Robbie Jones | Michele McNichol | Victor Zapata |
| | | | |

Juliet called for a motion to approve the executive committee and term renewals; the motion carried.

Jeff Miers

Luke Keller (Emeritus)

Michele introduced Ne'Cole Caldwell and De Jones to deliver the year-end program report. Ne'Cole and De shared the many successes from the year including the successes students achieved at the National Student Leadership Summit, the first graduating class of 3DE students at Austin High School, and the delivery of 1.2 million Instructional Contact Hours during the 2023/2024 school year. Ne'Cole and De asked Tiffany Spates to share an update on the new JA BizTown simulation. Tiffany shared the team had been working to implement changes to ensure a positive experience regardless of the level of preparation by teachers of the students before the site visit. The team will be using more technology and focusing on enhancing students' skills and mindset development. Tiffany demonstrated several features of the upgrade using Nearpod, a platform that will be used starting next school year.

Michele introduced Courtney Azuike and Ne'Cole to share annual board awards. Courtney and Ne'Cole recognized and thanked those members who are a part of the Free Enterprise Society (those who contribute \$10,000 or more personally) and those who contributed to the Building Tomorrows



campaign to construct a new facility. Next, they recognized four members who received JA USA Board Leadership Awards, Keven Dunphy, Emerson; Jarin Hansen, RSM; Mark Lashier, Phillips 66; and Praveen Naik, Gartner.

Michele introduced Evelyn Angelle to provide an update on the Phillips 66 | JA Discovery Center project. Evelyn shared renderings provided by Kirksey of the new building and gave an update on the budget for site work, core & shell, and parking. The budget for this portion of the project is \$12.65M. Through the work of the project manager, architect, and general contractor for the pre-constructional services, the group has been value-engineering the project to ensure it aligns with the budget. Since February, the team has created \$1.16M in estimated savings, and the project is currently aligned with JA's budget. The next step will be to competitively bid the project with four general contractors with the hope of further compression.

Evelyn then shared a timeline of important milestones. The plan is to select the general contractor by the end of July, close on the purchase of the land by September 5th, list the frontage acres for sale, demolish the existing structure in early October, and break ground on the new building. The goal is to have substantial completion by October 1, 2025.

Michele introduced Joe Burke and asked him to provide a year-end report and look at the year ahead and beyond. Joe shared that the 2023/2024 year was challenging. The team underperformed from a revenue generation standpoint and worked in a tenuous education environment with many factors impacting the organization outside its control. JA's school partners face financial challenges that will impact JA in the upcoming year as HISD cuts its financial support of 3DE. JA will continue to operate 3DE in its four campuses and look to other districts for potential growth. Joe expressed confidence in the organization's ability to rebound and asked for members' help doing so.

Joe then introduced 3DE students Celvin Orellana and Maria Vega and 3DE educators, Angela Kennedy and Terrance Mackey and led a panel discussion during which the participants shared the impact of 3DE.

Michele reminded everyone that the next board meeting will be September 12, 2024. She adjourned the meeting at 7:10 p.m.

Recorded by: Joe Burke

Respectfully submitted: William Swanstrom Secretary

